An intro to the guy who is introducing you to the Creative Process

Hi there.

I’m Paul Fix. I’m an advertising copywriter. If you’re wracking your brain trying to figure out who I am in Mad Men, I’m Peggy. A little more senior, but I’m Peggy. Except I’m a dude. And I didn’t give up the baby.

Wait, that wasn’t very nice.

Where do I get off, right?

Anyway, I’ve worked full time at agencies like Kirshenbaum Bond + Partners, Atmosphere BBDO, BBDO and JWT, and I’ve freelanced at many, many more.

Years ago, before I got into the creative part of advertising but after I was in the media part of advertising, I was a teacher. I taught English. I taught English in the Bronx. I taught English in the Bronx to high school students at a school that made more in-session calls to 911 during my school year than any other school in New York City.

I had a great time. The kids who showed up physically had fun. The ones who showed up physically and mentally learned something. I learned A LOT. But I really wanted to take a shot at the creative part of advertising, so I went back to school (as a student), created a portfolio and got a bunch of jobs.

I made that last part sound easy. It wasn’t. More on that later.

Recently, I got a call from my friend Lauren Slaff. Lauren is an immensely energetic, giving, wonderful person – a former illustrator at Chiat Day turned creative manager turned recruiter turned chef. In her free time, she also started an advertising school called AdHouse that helps eager students create a portfolio so they can be their own little Peggys to fill the void when guys like me become their own little Don Drapers. She asked me if I’d like to teach a class called Intro to the Creative Process.

I jumped at the opportunity.

See, I’ve had a lot of great teachers in my life and a lot of great mentors in my career. I reached out to creative people when I was a student and a junior, and so many responded and lifted me up. So I’ve always believed in paying it forward, because, let’s face it, there’s not much I can do at this moment for those who helped me. That’s why I sit on the Advisory Board of the Creative Circus (one of my alma maters) and frequently review portfolios at Miami Ad School.

But the chance at having a class of my own? Aces.

This blog is a (fairly) live update of the class for current and prospective students and hopefully industry pros and the general public as well. Please comment if you have questions, comments or concerns.

Now, let’s get started.

PS: What I said about Peggy giving up the baby was rude and mean. But, in my defense, I didn’t give up the baby. See? Here he is when I went pepper picking.

2 thoughts on “An intro to the guy who is introducing you to the Creative Process

  1. Hi Paul! I realize this was published in 2011 and so you may not see this note. However, I have a question. You mention schools like Miami Ad School and Creative Circus. Do you consider AdHouse to be a similar program that can help an aspiring young creative to create their book and launch a career? Or is this a supplement to a Miami Ad School/Creative Circus? One more (sorry… clearly I lied when I said only “a” question): is it possible to attend AdHouse (or Miami/Creative Circus) as well as working a full-time job?

    Looks like my grand total is 3.75 questions. Do with them what you will, but I really hope to hear back!

    Thanks a million.

    • Hey Man, Not sure if Paul still reads this blog but Paul is currently teaching at Adhouse and he teaches an intro the creative process course which was extremely helpful. http://adhousenyc.com/courses/

      I attended an Adhouse course while I was still in my senior year of school and it was completely doable.

      I hear that Miami Ad School and Creative Circus is more of a full time commitment.

Leave a Reply

